Pirelli SCORPION MX 32™ tyres conquer the German Grand Prix of the FIM Motocross World Championship

Desalle and Herlings walk the top step of the podium

Teutschenthal (Germany), June 23, 2014 – The FIM Motocross World Championship is clicking off the dates but the Pirelli SCORPION™ MX MidSoft 32F front and rear combination continue to hold firm at the very front of both MXGP and MX2 classes.

The premier category was owned by Clement Desalle who took advantage of a bad day for Antonio Cairoli by scoring second and first positions in the two motos to classify ahead of home favourite Max Nagl. The world champion and factory KTM rider could only manage fifth overall due to a stomach virus. For Cairoli it meant a scorecard of fifth position in the first moto and fourth place in the second. The third step of the podium behind Desalle and Nagl belonged to ever-present Yamaha rider Jeremy Van Horebeek; the Belgian racking-up his tenth consecutive podium finish by nudging Suzuki’s Kevin Strijbos down to fourth.

A Pirelli clean sweep of the rostrum was also evident in MX2. The superlative Jeffrey Herlings strode away unchallenged on his works KTM to a seventh clear double. The reigning world champion left behind Slovenian Tim Gajser and team-mate Jordi Tixier; the Frenchman breaching the top three for the third event in a row. Bad luck lay in store for Swiss Arnaud Tonus. The Kawasaki rider only just holds on to second position in the championship after a practice crash led to a dislocated shoulder and a short period of unconsciousness.

The SCORPION MX 32™ was prominent in European EMX125 with Brian Hsu winning for the second time this season on his Suzuki equipped with SCORPION™ MX MidSoft 32F front and rear. The German rider, who lives in Italy, is second in the series and gained valuable ground on leader and Pirelli rider Davy Pootjes after the Dutch teenager had to withdraw from the race after injuring his shoulder on Saturday.

The twelfth round of the FIM Motocross World Championship will take place at Uddevalla on July 6th for the Grand Prix of Sweden.


MXGP Overall Classification:

  1. Clement Desalle Suzuki Team Rockstar Factory
  2. Max Nagl Honda Team HRC
  3. Jeremy Van Horebeek Yamaha Factory Racing
  4. Kevin Strijbos Suzuki Team Rockstar Factory
  5. Antonio Cairoli KTM Team Red Bull Factory

MXGP Championship standings:

  1. Antonio Cairoli KTM p. 477
  2. Clement Desalle Suzuki p. 452
  3. Jeremy Van Horebeek Yamaha p. 440
  4. Kevin Strijbos Suzuki p. 350
  5. Shaun Simpson KTM p. 242

MX2 Overall Classification:

  1. Jeffrey Herlings KTM Team Red Bull Factory
  2. Tim Gajser Honda Team Gariboldi
  3. Jordi Tixier KTM Team Red Bull Factory
  4. Valentin Guillod KTM Team Standing Construct
  5. Romain Febvre Husqvarna Team Wilvo Nestaan

MX2 Championship standings:

  1. Jeffrey Herlings KTM p. 494
  2. Arnaud Tonus Kawasaki p. 389
  3. Jordi Tixier KTM p. 369
  4. Romain Febvre Husqvarna p. 358
  5. Dylan Ferrandis Kawasaki p. 343
Posted: 30/06/2014

Bike Tyre Buyer News

Just come in! Avon Spirit ST

Highly loaded silica compound combined with state of the art polymer technology for excellent wet...

Read More
Micheldever Tyre, Dunlop’s RoadSmart III

Dunlop’s new GT tyre offers precision handling and stability without compromise.

Read More


Read More